Technical Emmys presented in Las Vegas
January 10, 2011

Technical Emmys presented in Las Vegas

LAS VEGAS — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) recently presented the 62nd Annual Technology & Engineering  Emmy Awards ( ). The event took place on January 6th, in conjunction with the 2011 International Consumer Electronics Show. 

The Technology and Engineering Emmy Awards honor development and innovation in broadcast technology and recognize companies, organizations and individuals for breakthroughs that have a significant effect on television engineering.

The following is a list of winners:

- For Development and Production of Portable Tapeless Acquisition

Avid Technology, Inc.

Ikegami Co. LTD


- The Belt Pack: Distributed Amplifier Systems in Live Production

Stan Hubler

Doug Leighton

Bob Cohen

Charlie Butten

RTS Systems, Inc.
Clearcom (HME)


- Development of Wireless Intercom

HME (HM Electronics, Inc.)

RTS Systems, Inc.


- Development of Audio Meta Data Process for conforming audio the ATSC digital TV standard

Dolby Laboratories, Inc.

Linear Acoustic, Inc.

- Enabling Standards for the delivery of television via broadband data systems


- HD Super Motion Systems for acquisition, recording and playback for Broadcast Entertainment and Sports Productions

NAC Image Technology, Inc.

EVS Broadcast Equipment, Inc.

Vision Research (An AMETEK® Company)
Grass Valley Group

Sony Corporation

- Blue Laser Optical Systems for Consumer Playback

Sony Corporation

Royal Philips Electronics

Panasonic Corporation

TDK Corporation

In addition, a Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Sir Howard Stringer, Chairman and CEO of Sony Corporation. Since joining Sony Corporation, he has proven to be an innovative leader, spearheading the adoption of the Blu-ray format while leading the company’s high-profile expansion into digital broadcasting, the Internet and computer technology, including 3D TV.