ASC appoints slate of officers
June 10, 2014

ASC appoints slate of officers

LOS ANGELES — The Board of Governors of the American Society of Cinematographers ( recently has held its annual election to appoint its new slate of officers. Richard Crudo will serve as president, along with vice presidents Owen Roizman, Kees Van Oostrum and Lowell Peterson. Other appointments include treasurer Matthew Leonetti, secretary Fred Goodich and sergeant-at-arms Isidore Mankofsky. This is Crudo’s fifth term as president. In addition to last year, he served from 2003 through 2005.

Members of the board were elected in May by the organization’s active membership and include: John Bailey, Bill Bennett, Curtis Clark, Dean Cundey, George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, Michael Goi, Matthew Leonetti, Stephen Lighthill, Daryn Okada, Michael O’ Shea, Lowell Peterson, Rodney Taylor, Kees van Oostrum, and Haskell Wexler. Alternate Board members consist of Isidore Mankofsky, Karl Walter Lindenlaub, Robert Primes, Steven Fierberg and Kenneth Zunder.

“I'm profoundly humbled that my colleagues have once again chosen me to serve in this position,” says Crudo. “Right now, the organization is stronger than ever and we look forward to continuing our mission of promoting the role of the cinematographer. To be part of that in even a small way is both an honor and a privilege.”

In addition to its critical role influencing both artistic and technical aspects of the industry, Crudo and the board will continue their efforts to inspire the next generation of filmmakers through a varied slate of initiatives, such as their Student Heritage Awards, Breakfast Club seminars, the increasingly popular Friends of the ASC membership level and the org’s ongoing collaborations with other entities vital to the image-making process.

Born and raised in Brooklyn, NY, Crudo began his film career as an assistant cameraman. As a DP he has shot a wide range of theatrical, television and commercial productions. Among his feature credits are Federal Hill, American Buffalo, American Pie, Music From Another Room, Outside Providence, Down To Earth, Out Cold, Grind and Brooklyn Rules. He has also directed several independent films and currently shares cinematography duties with Francis Kenny, ASC on the popular FX Channel series Justified.

Crudo is also a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, serving as an Academy Governor and Chairman of the Cinematographers Branch. In addition, he has chaired and co-chaired the ASC Awards for several years throughout the past decade.

The ASC was founded in 1919. There are 340-plus active members today who have national roots in some 20 countries. There are also 150 associate members from ancillary segments of the industry.