ABFF announces film & television nominees
January 20, 2016

ABFF announces film & television nominees

LOS ANGELES — The American Black Film Festival (www.ABFFHonors.com) has announced the 2016 ABFF Honors nominees for television and film. ABFF Honors is an annual gala saluting excellence in motion pictures and television. Its mission is to celebrate black culture by recognizing individuals, movies and television shows that have had a significant impact on American entertainment, as well as those who are proponents of championing diversity and inclusion in Hollywood. Actor and comedian Mike Epps will host this year’s ceremony on February 21st at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.
The winners of both the television and film categories will be determined by the 2016 ABFF Honors Awards Jury, a blue ribbon panel of actors, filmmakers, film critics and entertainment diversity executives. To qualify for nominations, a film must feature a lead actor of African descent and have had a US theatrical release in 2015. Television nominees must feature a lead actor of African descent or be created by a person of African descent. The show must also have had a US season premiere in 2015.
This year’s "Film of the Year" nominees addressed many current political, social and economic issues. Included are two biopics: one about hip-hop’s most revolutionary rap group, and the other about a doctor who challenged the NFL. Two nominees take us on the journey through the eyes of a child: one into the life of a child soldier, while the other follows a student from being a geek to being dope. Another contender stepped into the ring to give us a reboot of the “Rocky” franchise. The final nominee pushed the envelope in a satire, which focused on the violence in Chicago based on an ancient Greek comedy. The nominees for “Film of the Year” are:

- Beasts of No Nation (Netflix)
- Chi-raq (Amazon Studios, Roadside Attractions)
- Concussion (Sony Pictures Entertainment)
- Creed (Warner Bros. Entertainment)
- Dope (Open Road Films)
- Straight Outta Compton (Universal Pictures)
There are five television shows that topped the list to receive the "Television Show of the Year" honor. The nominees for “Television Show of the Year” are:
- Being Mary Jane (BET)
- Black-ish (ABC)
- Empire (FOX)
- How To Get Away With Murder (ABC)
- Power (STARZ)
“I have always believed that the Black artists in Hollywood would be more empowered if they were more committed to supporting one another, attending celebrations of their culture and relied less on mainstream validation of their work. I hope that the success of ABFF Honors will change things,” says Jeff Friday, president and CEO, ABFF Ventures and Creator of ABFF Honors.
In addition to recognizing the top television shows and films of the year, ABFF Honors will pay tribute to film legends, along with today's creative forces, who together inspire the filmmakers and entrepreneurs of tomorrow. Actress Diahann Carroll will be presented with the Hollywood Legacy Award, and television and film producer Will Packer will receive the Distinguished ABFF Alumni Award at the 2016 ABFF Honors. The Excellence in the Arts Award and Rising Star Award honorees will be announced in the coming weeks.