NATAS to honor CBS’s Robert Ross, Fox’s Richard Friedel for Lifetime Achievement
August 29, 2017

NATAS to honor CBS’s Robert Ross, Fox’s Richard Friedel for Lifetime Achievement

NEW YORK CITY — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the recipients of the 69th Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards. The presentation will take place in partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) at their annual NAB Show on Sunday, April 8th, 2018 in Las Vegas.

Two broadcast technology icons, Robert Ross, senior vice president, CBS Broadcasting and Richard Friedel, executive vice president and GM, Fox Networks engineering and operations will receive the Academy’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award for their distinguished careers.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards has always recognized the talented and innovative leaders and companies that have made the incredible world of television possible,” says Bob Mauro, president, NATAS.  “We are especially excited this year to be presenting our program at NAB Show for the first time where many of these leaders assemble. Two of these leaders, Robert Ross of CBS and Richard Friedel of FOX have been instrumental in our world of television anytime, anywhere and The National Academy is happy to be honoring them both with our Lifetime Achievement Award in Technology.”

Robert Seidel, chairman of Technology & Engineering Achievement Committee says, “These awards honor the technology companies and individuals whose innovation and vision have materially affected the way the audience views television and have set the standard for technological excellence in the industry.”

“We are thrilled that NATAS has chosen to recognize the industry’s most innovative companies and leading technology minds at NAB Show,” adds NAB president and CEO Gordon Smith. “As the world’s largest event focused on the intersection of media and technology, NAB Show is a natural fit for this prestigious awards program. We congratulate the award winners and look forward to celebrating their achievements in April.”