Filmsupply Edit Fest announces winners
October 30, 2019

Filmsupply Edit Fest announces winners

FORT WORTH, TX — The winners of Filmsupply Edit Fest were recently announced, marking the end of the 30-day editing competition. The contest encouraged editors to submit work created using footage from Participants had a month to submit a video in any of three categories: Advertisement, Movie Trailer or Title Sequence. Beyond the unrestricted access to the Filmsupply library of footage, participants also had the ability to use music from Musicbed and sound effects from the Boom Library. At least 50 percent of each submission needed to include material from the Filmsupply library.

Filmsupply Edit Fest garnered more than 1,300 submissions: 443 advertisements, 672 movie trailers and 260 title sequences. Ultimately, the panel of judges chose three winners who impressed them based on concept, rhythm, emotion and sound. 

Best Advertisement Award 

Push the Limits, by William Forslund, is a :38 spot that’s all about the setup. The piece builds anticipation through the use of extreme sports footage, only to surprise the viewer with a disasterous ending. Forslund was able to cue up the punchline perfectly, and ultimately reveal the product - Relieve - which is designed to relieve the damage done to a body after pushing oneself to the extreme.

Best Movie Trailer Award

Polaris, by Dillon Droke, introduces audiences to an upcoming film about a rocket launch and the humans that the mission affects. The astronaut provides an ominous voiceover, hinting at his own personal struggles, while imagery shows life at home, the launch and unexpected finds on the yet-explored planet. Visual effects give the :60 trailer a big-budget feel.
Best Title Sequence Award

Jonestown, by Pete Ward, opens a feature about the mass suicide in Africa. Vintage imagery and sound bites of Jim Jones set the tone, contrasting imagery of death with tropical beauty. Strategic title placement introduces A-list talent, including Anna Paquin, Gabourey Sidibe and Mahershala Ali.
Each winning editor takes home a prize package that includes $5,000 in cash, written feedback from the panel of judges, a $2000 Filmsupply licensing credit and $2,000 Defacto Sound Credit (Design/Mix Service). They also receive a one-year BorisFX subscription to Continuum, Mocha and Sapphire; a one-year Boom Library subscription (Complete Boom Ultimate); a one-year Musicbed subscription (Business License); a one-year Mzed Pro membership and a membership to The Go-To Editor.

If you're interested in receiving notifications for next year's competition, visit this link: