Current Issue
April 2016
Issue: Audio - June 2007


NEW YORK - The 123rd AES Convention Committee began its planning for the October 2007 show ( last September. This year, the show will take place at the Javits Center in New York City, from October 5th through 8th, and will offer numerous sessions, panels, tours and tutorials relating to the professional audio field.

Returning for his third consecutive term as East Coast AES committee chairman is multi- Grammy-winning producer Jim Anderson, who also serves as chairman of NYU's Clive Davis Department of Recorded Music.

Anderson is joined on the AES Convention Committee by David Bialik, who is serving his 19th  term as broadcast chair. Additional volunteers include: Tutorials & Workshops chair, Alex Case; live sound co-chairs, Henry Cohen and John Kilgore; historical chair, Harry Hirsch; facilities chair, Michael McCoy; special events chair, David Prentice; papers co-chairs Agnieszka Roginska and Veronique Larcher; technical tours chair, Lou Manno; and master class chair Alan Silverman.

"Each year this Committee is challenged to raise the bar beyond standards set by previous conventions," notes AES executive director Roger Furness. "Amazingly, the diversity of the events, the numbers of attendees and exhibitors, and the overall level of quality actually does increase year after year. There is no way of adequately compensating Committee members for the time and effort they devote to the Convention, so it is particularly important to acknowledge their volunteer status."