10th AICE Awards open for entries, returns to New York City
February 1, 2011

10th AICE Awards open for entries, returns to New York City

NEW YORK — The 10th Anniversary AICE Awards (www.aice.org) competition has issued its call for entries and announced revisions to its eligibility rules and categories.

The 10th Anniversary AICE Awards show will take place on Tuesday, May 17, returning to New York City, where it began.

Deadline for entries is Friday, February 18, 2011 at midnight, EST. Entries can be submitted via the AICE online entry site, located at www.nicespots.com/aice. The site contains full entry details and category descriptions, along with rules and an FAQ section. The competition is open to work submitted by AICE member companies.

Several changes go into effect with this year's competition, according Burke Moody, executive director of AICE, the post production industry trade association. Most importantly, content which has aired between January 1, 2010 and February 6, 2011 will be eligible for the competition so that work which runs on this year’s Super Bowl broadcast will be eligible for the 2011 AICE Awards.

In addition, a new Regional Campaign category has been established which will complement the National Campaign category. Moody says, the move is designed to recognize the campaign work being done by member companies in regional markets which does not reach a national audience.

Finally, the Design category has been broadened and will now include visual effects along with design, graphics and animation.

In addition to work within categories, the AICE Awards also recognizes work within markets.  Each AICE Awards entry is automatically included in a corresponding “Best of Chapter” category. For example, all work entered by Detroit members will be included in the Best of Detroit category, all work entered by Dallas members in the Best of Dallas category, etc.

The Awards Show Committee, made up of AICE New York Board members and volunteers, is organizing this year's gala. The committee is led by Rachelle Way, president of the AICE New York Chapter, and includes New York board members Bob Cagliero of Manic, Dee Tagert of Jump and Amy Selwocki of Superfad. Courtney Law of Moondog Edit and Gloria Pitagorski of Sound Lounge head up sub-committees.