Sony Pictures' Tom McCarthy named MPSE president
December 9, 2015

Sony Pictures' Tom McCarthy named MPSE president

STUDIO CITY, CA — The Motion Picture Sound Editors ( have elected Tom McCarthy as president. McCarthy is an Academy Award- and BAFTA Award-winning sound supervisor, and longtime industry executive. He currently serves as executive vice president, post production facilities at Sony Pictures Studios. His appointment succeeds Frank Morrone.

Supervising sound editor Glenn T. Morgan was elected secretary. He succeeds Chris Reeves. McCarthy and Morgan join continuing officers Mark Lanza, vice president; Paul Rodriguez, treasurer; and Jeremy J. Gordon, sergeant at arms.

He describes his new role with MPSE as an opportunity to give back to an industry that he has worked in for nearly four decades. 

“I want to encourage more members to become involved in MPSE activities, including running for board positions,” says McCarthy. “I will also work to increase recognition for the art of entertainment sound, and the contributions sound editors make to motion pictures, television, games and other media.”

McCarthy adds that MPSE is planning to expand its series of sound seminars and create new educational opportunities for students and young professionals. 

“We see the MPSE as a forum where veteran sound professionals can share insights and advice with other members to improve their skills and grow their careers.”

In addition to the new officers, the MPSE elected several candidates to board seats. Steve Urban, Steve Avila, Mike Draghi, Solange Schwalbe, Bernard Weiser and Mandell Winter were elected to the Film Board. Mark Jasper, William Dannevik and Chris Reeves were elected to the Television Board. Charles Deenen was elected to the Game Cinematics Board. Avila, Draghi, Schwalbe, Weiser, Winter, Dannevik, Reeves and Deenen were incumbents.