SOVAS announces Voice Arts Awards nominees
September 26, 2017

SOVAS announces Voice Arts Awards nominees

NEW YORK CITY — Society of Voice Arts & Sciences (SOVAS) announced the nominations for its 2017 Annual Voice Arts Awards, which honor the best talent in the voiceover industry. The Voice Arts Awards Gala will be held on November 5th at Lincoln Center’s Fredrick P. Rose Hall in New York City. 

Kerry Washington, Owen Wilson, and Chris Cooper are all nominated in craft categories. Famed OJ Simpson trial prosecutor Marcia Clark is also a nominee in the audiobook category. Other nominees this year include Neil Degrasse Tyson, John Rhys-Davies, and Cheech Marin. The Voice Arts Awards feature nearly 100 categories across multiple genres. Previous award winners include, Jon Hamm, Kate Winslet, James Earl Jones, Katy Perry, Lena Dunham, and William Shatner.  

“We are thrilled to bring the show to Lincoln Center. This year’s Voice Arts Awards includes many of the top names in entertainment and there is no better venue to showcase their amazing accomplishments in voiceover,” says Emmy Award-winning producer and SOVAS CEO, Rudy Gaskins. 

In addition to the craft category awards, Bob Bergen, also known as the voice of Porky Pig, will present Lily Tomlin with this year’s Voice Arts Icon Award for lifetime achievement. The Voice Arts Awards also celebrate the power of the voice to impart change in the world. Three time Emmy winner Keith David, who’s currently starring in Oprah Winfrey’s hit show Greenleaf on OWN, will present the second annual Muhammad Ali Voice of Humanity Honor to acclaimed documentary filmmaker Ken Burns. 

Legendary voiceover artist, Nancy Cartwright, best known as the voice of Bart Simpson on Fox Network’s long running show The Simpsons, will be accepting the Backstage Vanguard Award at this year’s That’s Voiceover! Career Expo 2017 at the Times Center on November 4th. The award presentation will be accompanied by a personal one-on-one interview conducted by Inside Edition correspondent Les Trent.

The complete list of nominees can be downloaded HERE.