Cut+Run's Jen Dean to chair 2023 AICP Post Awards
February 23, 2023

Cut+Run's Jen Dean to chair 2023 AICP Post Awards

NEW YORK CITY — Matt Miller, president and CEO of AICP, has announced that Jen Dean, a senior editor at boutique editorial company Cut+Run, will serve as chairperson of the 2023 AICP Post Awards ( In addition, AICP has announced the lineup of industry experts who will make up the AICP Post Awards Curatorial Committee. The deadline to enter the AICP Post Awards, along with The AICP Show and the AICP Next Awards, is March 6th.

The AICP Post Awards presents trophies to the post production artists credited with the work in 25 categories covering editorial, music & sound, color grading, design, visual effects and finishing. New this year is a category recognizing outstanding work in Game Cinematics, which will honor excellence in crafting a 2D, CG pre-rendered or realtime rendered promotional piece for a video game. To be eligible for the 2023 AICP Post Awards, work must have first aired or launched between April 4th, 2022 and March 12th, 2023. 

Dean began her career at Lost Planet, where she assisted editor Hank Corwin before becoming an editor in her own right in 2006. Her work has consistently reflected her passion for music, deep knowledge of film history, and an appreciation of experimental film. She knows first-hand the excitement of winning at the AICP Post Awards, having won the first award presented for Best Editing in a Music Video in 2008. Dean’s storytelling abilities can be seen in work for Instagram, Pandora, The New York Times, Google, and the 2022 Emmy Award0winning campaign for New York City “It’s Time for NYC”. 

“Jen is an award-winning editor with a passion for creative excellence and is a respected leader in the industry, recognized for her commitment to the craft and artistry of post production,” says Miller. “I can’t think of anyone better suited to lead our Post Awards judging process this year. As an editor, she’ll bring a sharp focus to the curators’ deliberations, too. We’re delighted to have her in this role for 2023.”

“I was so happy to be asked to serve as the AICP Post Awards Chairperson,” Dean adds. “It’s such an honor, and knowing I was nominated by people I’ve admired since I started in the industry made it even better.”

One of Dean’s key responsibilities as chair is to form the AICP Post Awards Curatorial Committee, which will determine the selection of the final winners. In addition to Dean, the Post Awards Curatorial Committee includes post artists and executives from a range of crafts. The roster includes Past AICP Post Awards Chairs Yvette Cobarrubias of Cosmo Street and Chris Franklin of Big Sky Edit. 

Representing Editorial, the curators include editors Holle Singer of Consulate, Paul Martinez of Arcade, Rob Ryang of Cut+Run, Brandon Porter of Nomad Editing and Charlie Johnston of Lost Planet, along with president/managing director Craig Duncan of Cutters Studios. 

From the color and VFX crafts, the curators are colorists Mike Howell of Color Collective and Sofie Borup of Company 3, Director/VFX artist Eben Mears of Psyop, owner & creative director Gina Niespodziani of Hey Beautiful Jerk, VFX supervisor Sarah Marikar of The Mill and EP of color/VFX Laurie Adrianopoli of Carbon. 

From audio, the curators include sound designer Phil Loeb of Heard City and sound designer & mixer Tom Jucarone of Sound Lounge. Also serving on the committee will be director Matt Wolf of Epoch, global executive creative director Julie Scezlo of Dentsu Creative, and head of production Teri Altman of DDB/NY.