Music Video: Eleine — <I>We Shall Remain</I>
July 25, 2023

Music Video: Eleine — We Shall Remain

Swedish symphonic dark metal band Eleine recently released the music video for “We Shall Remain,” the title track off their new album from Atomic Fire Records. According to founding members Madeleine Liljestam (vocals) and Rikard Ekberg (guitars, vocals), the song combines all the important elements that Eleine is known for, including chuggy riffs, groovy rhythms and empowering lyrics.

The song was written and produced by Ekberg and Liljestam, with Thomas “Plec” Johansson handling co-recording, mixing and mastering at The Panic Room Studio in Skövde, Sweden. The music video, says Ekberg, was shot just a few kilometers from the band’s headquarters and took roughly nine hours from arrival to wrap. The project was shot using a Blackmagic Design Ursa Mini Pro 4.6K G2 camera with a DZOFilm Pictor 20-55mm lens and a 50-125mm lens.

Ekberg cut the piece in Adobe Premiere Pro. The final edit combines live action of the band performing in a stark warehouse, slow-motion footage and well-timed fire blasts going off around band members.

“The slow-motion effects, I feel, can be used either to fill emptiness or to emphasize an emotion or part of a video,” says the guitarist/editor. “I went with the latter and wanted to use the slow motion - gradual in and out sometimes - at very precise moments to serve the song. And, slow motion is always cool!”

Liljestam and Ekberg produce, direct and edit all of the band’s videos. 

“While being in the seat of producer/director, we have started working with a film and media company called Moob, and they took care of all the lighting, rigging and the actual filming,” Ekberg notes. “It's nice to feel you can focus a bit more on the acting, as we feel they are easy to work with and do a great job.”

In addition to Liljestam and Ekberg, Eleine ( is made up of Filip Stålberg (bass) and Jesper Sunnhagen (drums).