Cinema Audio Society presents 60th annual CAS Awards
March 4, 2024

Cinema Audio Society presents 60th annual CAS Awards

LOS ANGELES — On March 2nd, the Cinema Audio Society ( revealed the winners of the 60th annual CAS Awards. The event took place at the Beverly Hilton, where sound mixing teams for Oppenheimer, Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse and 32 Sounds were honored with feature film wins, while The Last of Us, The Bear, 100 Foot Wave and Weird: The Al Yankovic Story won the top non-theatrical honors.

Comedian Tom Papa hosted the event, which celebrated 60 years of the Cinema Audio Society and sound mixing excellence in the seven awards categories. Two special honorees and a student filmmaker were also recognized. 

Sound industry executive Doug Kent presented the CAS Career Achievement Award to sound mixer Joe Earle, CAS (American Horror Story, Six Feet Under, Monster’s Ball). Jon Favreau presented the CAS Filmmaker Award to writer/director/producer J.J. Abrams. Award presenters included Walter Murch, CAS; Jeremy Piven, Omar Dorsey, Jeff Garlin, Cristo Fernandez, Shameik Moore, Steven Weber, Bruce Greenwood and Dianne Warren.

"On behalf of the Cinema Audio Society, I extend heartfelt congratulations to all the winners of the 60th Annual CAS Awards," noted CAS president, Peter Kurland. "As we mark this significant milestone, reflecting on 60 years of the CAS, it's truly remarkable to witness the evolution of sound in cinema. While much has changed over time, one constant remains—the remarkable talent of these artists, whose dedication continues to enrich the cinematic experience for audiences worldwide. We applaud your exceptional achievements and invaluable contributions to the art of sound."

The winners of the 60th Annual CAS Awards are as follows:

Motion Picture — Live Action:
Production Mixer – Willie D. Burton CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Gary A. Rizzo CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Kevin O’Connell CAS
Scoring Mixer – Chris Fogel CAS
Foley Mixer – Tavish Grade
Foley Mixer – Jack Cucci
Foley Mixer – Mikel Parraga-Wills
Motion Picture — Animated:
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse
Original Dialogue Mixer – Brian Smith
Original Dialogue Mixer – Aaron Hasson
Original Dialogue Mixer – Howard London CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Michael Semanick CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Juan Peralta
Scoring Mixer – Sam Okell
Foley Mixer – Randy K. Singer CAS
Motion Picture — Documentary:
32 Sounds
Production Mixer – Laura Cunningham
Re-Recording Mixer – Mark Mangini
Scoring Mixer – Ben Greenberg
ADR Mixer – Bobby Johanson CAS
Foley Mixer – Blake Collins CAS
Non-Theatrical Motion Pictures or Limited Series:
Weird: The Al Yankovic Story
Production Mixer – Richard Bullock CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Tony Solis
Scoring Mixer – Phil McGowan CAS
ADR Mixer – Brian Magrum CAS
Foley Mixer – Erika Koski CAS
Television Series — One Hour:
The Last Of Us: S01 E01 When You’re Lost In The Darkness
Production Mixer – Michael Playfair CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Marc Fishman CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Kevin Roache CAS
Foley Mixer – Randy Wilson CAS
Television Series — Half Hour:
The Bear: S02 E07 Forks
Production Mixer – Scott D. Smith CAS
Re-Recording Mixer – Steve “Major” Giammaria CAS
ADR Mixer – Patrick Christensen
Foley Mixer – Ryan Collison
Foley Mixer – Connor Nagy
Television Series — Non-Fiction, Variety or Music/Series or Specials:
100 Foot Wave: S02 E05 Lost at Sea
Re-Recording Mixer – Keith Hodne

Yushu “Doris” Shen, from University of Southern California, won the Student Recognition Award, receiving a check for $5,000. The other four student finalists each took home $1,000 from the CAS, along with $10,000 in products and gear to help launch their careers in sound, thanks to the support of Acon Digital, Apple, Avid, Ginger Audio, Halter Technical, Izotope Inc., K-Tek, Krotos Audio, Lectrosonics Inc., McDSP, Sound Particles, Shotdeck, Todd-AO/Absentia DX and Zaxcom.