The Advanced Imaging Society presents 14th annual Lumiere Awards
February 12, 2024

The Advanced Imaging Society presents 14th annual Lumiere Awards

LOS ANGELES — The Advanced Imaging Society’s Lumiere Awards ( handed out statuettes for distinguished creative and technical achievement during its 14th annual awards luncheon on Friday, February 9th, at the Beverly Hills Hotel. 

The Lumiere Awards recognize distinguished directors and professionals in film, television and emerging media, as voted for by members of the Hollywood creative and technology community. USC film historian J.D. Connor emphasized cinema's unique blend of advanced technology and emotional intimacy, highlighting how innovation has long been a crucial element of cinematic storytelling. He stressed the importance of technological advancements in expanding the possibilities of storytelling, underscoring their significance to all who love to be transported by stories in film and television. 

“Our awards have humorously been called the Oscars for geeks,” remarked Jim Chabin, AIS president. “​​In 2023, amidst the industry's chaos, we witnessed the culmination of years of dedication and sudden bursts of creativity. That work is so important to all of us who love film and television. The Lumiere winners of this year have notably expanded the boundaries of technology in filmmaking, enriching storytelling in remarkable ways.

The Society awarded the Best Live Action Feature Film to Universal Studios’ multi-nominated Oppenheimer, with Best Actor nominee Cillian Murphy surprising the room and accepting the award on behalf of Christopher Nolan. Voters praised Oppenheimer for its sheer ambition, monumental visual achievement and its commitment to uncompromising imaging quality.
The Lumiere for Best Animated Feature Film went to Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse. Lead voice actress Hailee Steinfeld presented the award to Academy Award-winning writers/producers Phil Lord and Chris Miller. Voters praised the multiple styles of animation, saying visually it was the closest thing to animating a comic book that has ever been achieved.
Best International Feature Film was presented to Academy Award-nominee Takashi Yamazaki, director, writer and visual effects supervisor of Godzilla Minus One. Voters praised the film for being a superb new addition to the Godzilla legacy.

The Lumiere for Best Documentary went to 32 Sounds and was accepted by Academy Award-winning sound editor Mark Mangini. This immersive documentary explores sound and its power to bend time, cross borders and profoundly shape our perception of the world around us. 

Barbie received the award for Best Use of HDR in a Feature Film, which was accepted by colorist Alan Gordon. The film was also recognized for Best Original Song for “I’m Just Ken.” HBO’s The Last of Us was recognized for Best Use of HDR - Episodic, and the award was received by Erik Hansen, vice president of media and production services, production operations HBO & Max.
The society’s annual Sir Charles Wheatstone Award is presented to an organization for advancing the arts and sciences of storytelling. These award recipients are the magicians who work behind the scenes to make stories truly come alive on screen and beyond. This year AIS presented the award to The Walt Disney Studios’ Research and Innovation teams DisneyResearch|Studios and StudioLAB for advancing cinematic storytelling. Jamie Voris, The Walt Disney Studios’ EVP/CTO, accepted the award on behalf of the teams. 

“I’m honored to accept this award on behalf of our DisneyResearch|Studios and StudioLAB teams. I’m so proud of the teams’ outstanding achievements over the years to continuously push the boundaries of what’s possible and to shape the future of cinematic storytelling.”
The following is a complete list of winners:
Best Feature Film - Live Action: Oppenheimer
Best Feature Film – Animated: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse 
Best Feature Film - International: Godzilla Minus One
Best Documentary: 32 Sounds
Best Motion Picture - Musical: Color Purple 
Best Audio – Theatrical: The Creator
Best Audio – Episodic: The Last of Us
Best Original Song: “I’m Just Ken” from Barbie 
Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Feature Film: Barbie
Best Use of High Dynamic Range – Episodic: The Last of Us
Best 2D to 3D Conversion: Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 3  
Best Musical Scene or Sequence: “I’m Here” from Color Purple
Best Theatrical Scene or Sequence: Mission: Impossible - Dead Reckoning Part One 
Best Episodic – Animated: Star Wars: Visions Volume 2
Best Episodic – Live Action: The Last of Us
Best Achievement in 8K Production: Satayama Niigata: Living with Snow; NHK/NHK Enterprises Inc.
Innovation in Production Technology Award: Ryff
Heritage Award for Media Preservation: Iron Mountain Media and Archive Services
Sir Charles Wheatstone Award for Creative Excellence in Visual Effects: Walt Disney Studios 
Voices For The Earth Award: Darren Aronofsky and Sphere Entertainment, Postcard from Earth
Distinguished Artist Award: Jeffrey Wright, American Fiction
Harold Lloyd Award: Alexander Payne, The Holdovers