British Film Editors announce Cut Above Awards' nominees
February 1, 2021

British Film Editors announce Cut Above Awards' nominees

LONDON — The inaugural British Film Editors’ Cut Above Awards will celebrate and recognize excellence in editing and post production of film and TV content streamed or screened in the UK. The organization ( recently announced the nominations for 2021, and voting, which opens on February 1st, will be exclusive to BFE members, concluding in late February. 

All films and television productions broadcast or available to stream in the UK during 2020 were eligible to be nominated. A total of 18 films and television programs received nominations, with the BBC and Netflix receiving the bulk of the nominations (six each).

The Cut Above Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday, March 5th, as an online event, with a star studded line up of guest presenters. It will be available to watch on YouTube.

The nominations are as follows:
Best Edited Single Drama
Alan Baumgarten, ACE, BFE - The Trial of the Chicago 7 - Amblin Partners, Nefllix Maya Maffioli - Rocks - Fable Pictures, Altitude
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, ACE, BFE - Misbehaviour - Lea Bank Pictures, Pathé
Mark Towns, BFE - Saint Maud - Escape Plan ProducNons, StudioCanal UK
Jinmo Yang - Parasite - CJ Entertainment & Barunson E&A, Curzon Artificial Eye

Best Edited Series or Miniseries - Drama
Guy Bensley, John Dwelly, BFE, Amy Hounsell, Mike Phillips, Christian Sandino-Taylor, Lindsey Woodward - I May Destroy You - Various Artists & FALKNA, BBC
Chris Dickens, ACE & Steve McQueen - Small Axe - Turbine Studios & Lammas Park, BBC Nathan Nugent & Stephen O’Connell - Normal People - Element Pictures, BBC
Michelle Tesoro, ACE - The Queen’s Gambit - Flitcraa & Wonderful Films, Nefllix

Best Edited Single Documentary or Non-Fiction Program
Jeff Buchanan, ACE, Zoe Schack - Beastie Boys Story - Fresh Bread & Pulse Films, Apple TV+ Davis Coombe - The Social Dilemma - Exposure Labs, Netflix
Martin Elsbury - David Atenborough: A Life on Our Planet - Silverback & WWF, Netflix Charlome Landelius, Hanna Lejonqvist, SFK - I Am Greta - BR.F, BBC

Best Edited Series or Miniseries - Documentary/Non-Fiction
Doug Abel, ACE, Nicholas Biageq, Dylan Hansen-Fliedner, Daniel Koehler, Geoffrey Richman, ACE - Tiger King: Murder, Mayhem and Madness - Goode Films, Netflix
Justin Badger, William Grayburn, Samuel R. Santana - The Rise of the Murdoch Dynasty - 72 Films, BBC
Steve Taylor (Lead Editor), Alvin Campana, Peter Denes, Geoff Matheson, Eamonn O’Connor - Ted Bundy: Falling for a Killer - Saloon Media, Amazon Prime
Maria Cataldo, Cy Christiansen, Marion Delarche, Emmanuel Nomikos, Joshua L. Pearson, James Steelman - Jeffrey Epstein: Filthy Rich - Radical Media and James Pamerson Entertainment, Netflix
Mike Davey, William Grayburn, Anna Price, Simon Sykes - Once Upon A Time In Iraq - KEO Films, BBC

There are two further categories, peer-nominated by editors and assistants, decided by a jury, that will see two individuals presented with the following BFE honours. These awards are named after BFE editors who passed away in 2020:

The Michael Johns BFE Award for Outstanding Assistant Editor
In honor of editor Michael Johns, who was a long time governor. Michael was passionate about helping and promoting people in the industry. This award is open to any assistant editor in the UK.

The Chris Crookall BFE Award for Breakthrough Editor
Chris Crookall was a younger BFE member who was enjoying an outstanding career. This will be awarded to a BFE member in the early stage of their career. It recognizes a junior editor, who shows the qualties and attributes to go far.