July 18, 2013

"American Horror Story," "Game of Thrones" lead Emmy nominations

LOS ANGELES — The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced its nominees for the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards. 

Delivering the news about the nominations were Aaron Paul of "Breaking Bad" and Neil Patrick Harris, who will serve as the master of ceremonies for the event.

Taking the lead with 17 nominations is FX's "American Horror Story: Asylum, followed by HBO's "Game of Thrones," which pulled in 16 nominations."

The Emmys features a wide range of categories, recognizing actor performances, reality shows, variety shows, best miniseries, writing, directing, best documentary, voice-overs, art direction, casting, costuming, and more.

Nominees for Outstanding Special Visual Effects include:

- Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome • Syfy • Universal Cable Productions

- Defiance • Pilot • Syfy • Universal Cable Productions

- Falling Skies • Worlds Apart • TNT • DreamWorks Television

- Game Of Thrones • Valar Dohaeris • HBO • Bighead, Littlehead, Television 360, Startling Television and Generator Productions in association with HBO Entertainment

- Hemlock Grove • Children Of The Night • Netflix • Produced by Gaumont International Television for Netflix

- Last Resort • Captain • ABC • Middkid Productions, Big Sun Productions in association with Sony Pictures Television

Nominees for Outstanding Special Visual Effects In A Supporting Role include:

- Banshee • Pilot • Cinemax • Tropper/Schickler Productions, One Olive and Your Face Goes Here Entertainment in association with Cinemax Original Series

- Boardwalk Empire • The Pony • HBO • Leverage, Closest to the Hole Productions, Sikelia Productions and Cold Front Productions in association with HBO Entertainment

- The Borgias • The Prince • Showtime • Showtime Presents in association with Take 5 Productions and Octagon Films

- Da Vinci's Demons • The Lovers • Starz • Starz and Adjacent Productions

- Revolution • Pilot • NBC • Bonanza Productions in association with Bad Robot Productions, Kripke Enterprises and Warner Bros. Television

- Vikings • Dispossessed • HISTORY • An Octagon and Take 5 production in association with Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer for History

The winners will be announced on Sunday, September 22, during a live broadcast on CBS starting at 8 pm.